Bill Blazer Memorial Set For Friday And Saturday For Men’s Golf

Bill Blazer Memorial Set For Friday And Saturday For Men’s Golf


COLUMBUS, Ohio — Ohio Dominican's men's golf team will host and participate in the first Bill Blazer Memorial at Cumberland Trail Golf Club in Pataskala, Ohio this Friday and Saturday.

The tournament is dedicated in memory of Bill Blazer, Ohio Dominican Athletic Director Emeritus. Blazer served as ODU's Athletic Director from 2004-10 and moved to the role of Director of Athletic Development in 2011. He served as the Athletic Director Emeritus after retiring from the development office in 2013. Blazer played a key role in helping Ohio Dominican's athletic department transition from the NAIA to the NCAA Division II level and competing in the GLIAC. In 2007-08, Blazer was named NAIA Region IX Athletic Director of the Year and was also named the NAIA Northeast Region Under Armour Athletic Director of the Year for 2008-09.

Competition in the 36-hole event will begin on Friday with a 1:30 p.m. shotgun start, and final round play will start on Saturday at 8 a.m. with split tees.

Ohio Dominican team shot its low tournament score of the spring en route to a third place finish at the Mount St. Joseph Spring Invite on Tuesday, and junior Drew Wayman (Wapakoneta, Ohio) led the way with a second place finish after shooting a career-low 36 hole score of a 145 (74-71). ODU turned in a team score of 604 (298-304), with its round one score tying a season-low for the squad. Also finishing in the top five was sophomore Blake Saffell (Somerset, Ohio), who matched his career-low 36 hole mark after shooting a 148 (74-74) for the tournament. Placing in the top 20 for the Panthers were seniors Ryan Thompson (Dunfermline, Scotland) and Mark Creamer (Saratoga, California). Thompson shot a 152 (74-78) to place in a tie for 12th, the seventh top 20 finish of his career. Creamer recorded his fourth top 20 finish after coming in with a 154 (80-74).

Full coverage of the Bill Blazer Memorial is available on the tournament webpage.

Contact: Aaron McPherson